2013 Board of Directors election results

Posted by: Adam Legge on November 22, 2012

After a month of voting, I am excited to share the results of the election of the Chamber’s 2013 board of directors which closed on Thursday, November 15.

This year, we had 13 highly skilled candidates running for three positions on the Chamber’s board of directors. Voter participation in this election was the highest in a decade, with a number of Chamber members coming forward to cast their vote and play a part in selecting the 2013 board of directors for the Calgary Chamber. The three candidates elected from this process are:

  • David Allen, President, Calgary Land, Brookfield Residential Properties Inc. 
  • Bill Brunton, President, Stratus Marketing Inc.
  • Guy Huntingford, Publisher, Calgary Herald (existing board member)

I know 2013 is going to be an awesome year for the Chamber and I am looking forward to working with our new board members and to continue to be guided by the strengths of our existing board as we move forward on a number of exciting membership, policy and programing initiatives.

Our newly elected board members will start work in their new roles effective January 1, 2013. They will be joined by a new executive committee for 2013 that will be comprised of:

  • Chair: Joe Lougheed, Partner, Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP
  • Immediate Past Chair: David Sprague, CEO, Agriculture for Life
  • Chair Elect: Leah Lawrence, President, Clean Energy Capitalists Inc.
  • Second Vice Chair: Rob Hawley, Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
  • Vice Chair, Finance: Denis Painchaud, Director, International Government Relations, Nexen Inc.
  • CEO: Adam Legge, President and CEO, Calgary Chamber

The full board of directors for 2013 includes: 

On behalf of the entire Calgary Chamber, I would like to sincerely thank outgoing board members Glenn McNamara, Arlene Flock, Bill Flaig, Melodie Creegan, Don Chynoweth, Chuck Szmurlo, Kelly Blackshaw and Doug Firby for their hard work and dedication to the organization over the years.


Adam Legge